9jaRocks.com Telegram Channel


2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier Fresh faces for Australia’s Thai football World Cup game


Postecoglou said the match in Bangkok on November 15 was vital for the Socceroos.


Australia coach Ange Postecoglou on Wednesday named two uncapped midfielders and a handful of A-League players in an extended squad for their World Cup qualifier against Thailand, where cheering has been banned.

There was uncertainty about whether the game would go ahead after the death of Thai KingBhumibol Adulyadej, with fans advised to wear white, black or grey clothing. They are blocked from any activities “that are considered joyful”.

Postecoglou said the match in Bangkok on November 15 was vital for the Socceroos, who are second in a tight group behind Saudi Arabia. Japan are third.

He added that the inclusion of five domestic-based players in the 30-man squad, which will be trimmed after this weekend’s A-League games, reflected the depth of the team.

“It is yet another good sign of the depth we are creating and when we announce the team after this weekend there will be players who miss out that are playing well enough to be part of the squad,” Postecoglou said.

The Socceroos have so far contested its qualifiers with foreign-based players apart from veteran talisman Tim Cahill, who now plays with Melbourne City after 18 years overseas.

Aside from Cahill, the other four A-League players are the uncapped Luke Brattan of Melbourne City, Melbourne Victory’s Jason Geria, Josh Risdon of Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar‘s Tommy Oar.

Uncapped Austrian-based midfielder James Jeggo is also included.

Australia – Aziz Behich (Bursaspor/TUR), Luke Brattan (Melbourne City/AUS), Nathan Burns (F.C. Tokyo/JPN), Tim Cahill (Melbourne City/AUS), Milos Degenek (1860 Munchen/GER), Adam Federici (Bournemouth/ENG), Jason Geria (Melbourne Victory/AUS), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg/NOR), Apostolos Giannou (Guangzhou R&F/CHN), Craig Goodwin (Sparta Rotterdam/NED), Chris Ikonomidis (Aarhus Gymnastikforening/DEN), Jackson Irvine (Burton Albion/ENG), Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa/ENG), James Jeggo (SK Sturm Graz/AUT), Tomi Juric (FC Luzern/SUI), Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen/GER), Mitchell Langerak (Vfb Stuttgart/GER), Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt/GER), Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers/ENG), Ryan McGowan (Henan Jianye/CHN), Mark Milligan (Baniyas/UAE), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town/ENG), Tommy Oar (Brisbane Roar/AUS), Josh Risdon (Perth Glory/AUS), Tommy Rogic (Celtic/SCO), Mathew Ryan (Valencia/ESP), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning/CHN), Brad Smith (Bournemouth/ENG), Matthew Spiranovic (Hangzhou Greentown/CHN), Bailey Wright (Preston North End/ENG)


How useful was this?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Mr Rock

Default password: 9jarocks
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back to top button
Recent Searches:
Ted Lasso || Black Crab || You || Sex/life Season 1 || Grow || Grind ||